## **Candidate for IUGS Executive Committee**

**Position: Councillor 2022-2026** 

Name: Faqin Dong

Affiliation: Southwest University of Science and Technology,

Mianyang (swust), China.

Nominating Organization: Geological Society of China



## **Biography:**

Prof. Faqin Dong is currently the director of Key Laboratory of Solid Waste Treatment and Resource Recycle, SWUST, Mianyang, China. He obtained his PhD degree of Mineralogy from China University of Geosciences in 1992, spent near a year as visiting scholar at Laurentian University between 1992 and 1993 and has engaged in research more than 35 years.

## **Statement:**

Prof. Fagin Dong is a well-respected researcher in environmental minerals and travertine geology. His research travertine deposition has related to biodeposition mechanisms and degradation conservation of plateau cold water type and established the first travertine specimen's exhibition hall in the world. Dong's researches also include fibrous brucite which interdisciplinary exploration made the world's level of applied mineralogy of fiber brucite a big step forward. He established fibrous brucite's resource, safety, economy, due value and the position of fibrous brucite instead of chrysotile and accurately predicted 9 million ton block brucite deposit in Liaoning China and new genesis type of fibrous brucite deposit. He proposed a new viewpoint of mineral ultrafine effect. He chaired over 10 National Projects and had successfully completed National 863, 973 Plan Project with favorable results and nearly 20 achievements were awarded at the natioanal or provincial gonverment. He has published more than 200 papers with the citation of more than 1400 times and authored more than 40 patents whom was awarded the Asian Inventor's Award in 2019. He established the discipline system and edited *Applied Mineralogy* which is the first this kind of textbook in the world. He was the vice chairman of China Non-metallic Mineral Industry Association since 2006 and served as the vice chairman of the 10th and chairman of the 11th ICAM.