## IUGS E-Bulletin #8 September 2004

This issue of the International Union of Geological Sciences E-Bulletin includes recent information regarding decisions taken by the IUGS Council at the 32<sup>nd</sup> IGC in Florence, Italy, August 2004.

All copies of the E-Bulletin are also available from the official IUGS website (www.iugs.org).

The IUGS Council made the following decisions:

- The Council ratified the inclusion of four new adhering national bodies (national memberships) to IUGS: Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Peru and Slovenia.
- The IGC and IUGS Councils were officially merged into a single Council, this effort results in a more efficient entity to deal with matters arising from IGC and IUGS.
- The IGC and IUGS statutes were changed in accordance to the decision given above. The new Council requested the IUGS Executive Committee revise and streamline the Statutes to make the Council meetings more effective. As a result, at is first meeting on August 27, the new IUGS Executive Committee decided to establish an ad hoc committee to revise the Statutes.
- Four new affiliated organizations to IUGS were ratified. These are: the International Consortium on Landslides, the International Geoscience Education Organization, Geologische Vereinigung and the Coordinating Committee for Geoscience Programmes in East and Southeast Asia. The last pending a minor change in the Statutes.
- The following officers of the IUGS Executive Committee were elected:

President: Prof. Zhang Hongren (China)

Secretary General: Prof. Peter T. Bobrowsky (Canada)

Treasurer: Prof. Antonio Brambati (Italy) re-elected

Vice Presidents: Prof. Eldridge Moores (USA) and Prof. Sylvi

Haldorsen (Norway)

Councillors (2004-2008): Prof. Ryo Matsumoto (Japan) and Dr.

Gabriele Schneider (Namibia); Prof. Alberto Riccardi (Argentina) and

Prof. Jean-Paul Cadet (France)

Councillors (2006-2010): Prof. Mikhail Fedonkin (Russia) and Dr.

Marta Mantovani (Brazil)

Past-President: Prof. Eduardo F.J. de Mulder

Past-Secretary General: Dr. Werner Janoschek

• The members of the new IUGS Nominating Committee will be: Chair: Past President Eduardo de Mulder (Netherlands)

Members: Joy Pereira (Malaysia), Eldridge Moores (USA), Wolfgang Eder (France), Victor Osipov (Russia), Harsh Gupta (India) and A. Kampunzu (Botswana)

- The Council approved the IUGS Mid-term report.
- The Council adopted the proposed IUGS grant policy.
- The Council approved IUGS' activities in the International Year of Planet Earth and adopted a Declaration requesting UNESCO's Executive Board to support the International Year.

## Other Issues:

- IGC Congress venues for the future: The Nordic countries will host the Congress in 2008 (Oslo) Australia will host the Congress in 2012 (Brisbane).
- IUGS Booth: The IUGS Secretariat reports that they received at least 5000 visitors to the IUGS Booth that they shared with Episodes and ICS in Florence. A truckload of information regarding Union activities was distributed and many important first time contacts were established. 2500 happy visitors went home with an IUGS Poster printed in China featuring an attractive migmatitic gneiss formation from western Norway. Also extremely popular were the 2003 IUGS Annual Report, Planet Earth brochures and old IUGS monographs: all distributed at no charge. Several hundreds of visitors requested copies of posters of the History of the Earth (Download at http://www.stratigraphy.org) and the Nomenclature of Metamorphic Rocks (download from Results page of http://www.bgs.ac.uk/SCMR). IUGS would like to express thanks to all who visited and helped at the booth at GeoExpo.

## The E-Bulletin is compiled by:

Prof. Sylvi Haldorsen
Vice President IUGS
Agricultural University of Norway
Department of Plant and Environmental Sciences
P.O. Box 5003
N-1432 Aas
NORWAY
syhaldor@online.no