Scientific Commissions

 

Geoscience Education, Training & Technology Transfer (COGE)

http://www.iugscoge.com/

 


Chairman: Prof. Chris King
Keele University, United Kingdom
Email: chrisjhking36@gmail.com 

 

Secretary/Treasurer: Prof. Ian Clark
University of South Australia, Australia
Email: ian.clark@unisa.edu.au

International Commission on GeoHeritage (ICG)

 

Commission Chairman: Dr. Björn Schouenborg  
Email: bjorn.schouenborg@ri.se

 

Commission Secretary General: Prof. Benjamin Van Wyk De Vries
Email: ben.vanwyk@uca.fr 

 

Subcommission on Geoheritage Sites and Collections 

https://geoheritage-iugs.mnhn.fr/

Chair: Prof. Patrick De Wever
Géologie, Dept Histoire de la Terre, Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle
43 rue Buffon F-75 005 Paris Cedex 05, France
Tel: +33 0140793482
Email: pdewever@mnhn.fr

 

Secretary General: Prof. Benjamin Van Wyk De Vries
Université Clermont Auvergne, Observatoire du Physique du Globe de Clermont, Laboratoire Magmas et Volcans, UMR6524-CNRS
Campus Universitaire des Cézeaux, 6 Avenue Blaise Pascal, TSA 60026 - CS 60026, 63178 Aubiere Cedex, France
Tel: +33 660206927
Email: ben.vanwyk@uca.fr

Subcommission on Heritage Stone 

http://globalheritagestone.com/

 

Chair: Dr. Björn Schouenborg  
RISE, Research Institutes of Sweden
Box 857, SE 50115 Boras, Sweden
Email:
bjorn.schouenborg@ri.se 

 

Secretary General: Prof. Dolores Pereira
Department of Geology, University of Salamanca
Plaza de la Merced s/n, 37008 Salamanca, Spain
Tel:  +34-923294498 
Email: mdp@usal.es

 

Vice-Chairs; Barry Cooper (Australia), Brian R. Pratt (North America), Piero Primavori (Europe), Maria Heloisa Barros De Oliveira Frasca (South America), Gurmeet Kaur (South Asia)

History of Geological Sciences (INHIGEO)

http://www.inhigeo.com/


President: Prof. Barry J. Cooper
School of Natural & Built Environments, University of South Australia (Mawson Lakes Campus) 
GPO Box 2471, Adelaide SA 5001, Australia
Email: barry.cooper@unisa.edu.au 

Secretary General: Marianne Klemun 
Department for History (Institut für Geschichte), University of Vienna (Universität Wien)
Universitätsring 1, 1010 Wien, Austria
Email: marianne.klemun@univie.ac.at 

Editor: Prof. William R. Brice
116 Luna Lane, Johnstown, Pennsylvania, 15904-3068, USA
Tel: +1-814-269-3950
Email: wbrice@pitt.ed 

Past-President: Prof. Kenneth Taylor
Department of the History of Science, University of Oklahoma
Norman, OK 73019-0315, USA 
Email: ktaylor@ou.edu  

Vice Presidents:

 

Prof. Luz Fernanda Azuela (Latin America)
Instituto de Geografia, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico
Circuita Exterior s/n, Ciudad Universitaria, 04510 Mexico D.F., Mexico
Email: lazuelab@yahoo.com.mx 

 

Prof. Stephen Rowland (North America)
Department of Geoscience, University of Nevada
Box 454010, Las Vegas, NV 89154-4010, USA
Tel: +1-702-895-3625
Email: steve.rowland@unlv.edu 

Prof. Ezio Vaccari (Europe)
Dipartimento di Informatica e Comunicazione, Università dell'Insubria
Via Mazzini 5, 21100 Varese, Italy
Tel: +39-332-218-940
Email: ezio.vaccari@uninsubria.it 

Dr. Michiko Yajima (Asia)
#901, 6-2-10, Hongo, Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo 113-0033, Japan
Tel: 81-3-3812-7039
Email: pxi02070@nifty.com

 

Dr. Michael Johnston (Australasia & Oceania)
395 Trafalgar Street, Nelson, New Zealand
Email: mike.johnston@xtra.co.nz 

 

Ex Officio ('Episodes' Coordinator): Dr. Karen S. Cook
1534 Rhode Island Street, Lawrence, KS 66044, USA
Email: kscook@ku.edu

Geoscience Information (CGI)

http://www.cgi-iugs.org/


Chairperson: François Robida

BRGM

3, Av. Claude Guillemin, BP 36009, F-45060 Orléans Cedex, France
Tel: +33 238 64 3132
Fax: +33 238 64 3840
Email: f.robida@brgm.fr 

Co-Secretary General: Dr. Zhang Minghua
Director of Geoinformation and Engineering, Development Research Center, China Geological Survey
45 Fuwai Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100037, P. R. China
Tel: +86 10 58584620
Email: zminghua@mail.cgs.gov.cn

Co-Secretary General: Kombada Mhopjeni  
Chief Geologist, Regional Geoscience Division, Geological Survey of Namibia
1 Aviation Road, Windhoek, Namibia
Tel: +264-(0)61-284-8101
Email: kkmhopjeni@mme.gov.na

 

Treasurer and Web Manager: Oliver Raymond
Team Lead, Information Management, Resources Division, Geoscience Australia
GPO Box 378, Canberra, ACT, 2601, Australia
Tel: +61 2 6249 9575
Email: oliver.raymond@ga.gov.au

Officers

 

Dr. Robert Tomas
European Commission - DG Joint Research Centre
Email: robert.tomas@jrc.ec.europa.eu

 

Dr. Gabriel Asato
GIS Unit - SEGEMAR, Argentina
Email: g_asato2000@yahoo.com

Kazuhiro Miyazaki
Orgenic Processes Research Group, Japan
Email: kazu-miyazaki@aist.go.jp

 

Tomasz Nalecz
Polish Geological Institute – National Research Institute, Poland
Email: tnal@pgi.gov.pl

 

Harvey Thorleifson
Minnesota Geological Survey, USA
Email: thorleif@umn.edu

David Percy
Portland State University, USA
Email: percyd@pdx.edu

International Commission on Stratigraphy (ICS)

http://www.stratigraphy.org/

https://www.iugs.org/ics


Commission Chair: David A.T. Harper (United Kingdom)
Email: david.harper@durham.ac.uk 

 

Vice Chair: Brian T. Huber (USA)
Email: huberb@si.edu 

 

Secretary General: Phil Gibbard (United Kingdom)
Email: plg1@cam.ac.uk 

 

Quaternary Subcommission
Martin Head (Canada)
Email: mjhead@brocku.ca 

Neogene Subcommission
Isabella Raffi (Italy)
Email: raffi@unich.it 

Paleogene Subcommission 
Simonetta Monechi (Italy)
Email: monechi@unifi.it 

 

Cretaceous Subcommission
Maria Rose Petrizzo (Italy)
Email: M.Hart@plymouth.ac.uk 

 

Jurassic Subcommission
Stephen Hesselbo (United Kingdom)
Email: S.P.Hesselbo@exeter.ac.uk 

 

Triassic Subcommission
Mark Hounslow (United Kingdom)
Email: m.hounslow@lancaster.ac.uk 

 

Permian Subcommission 
Shen Shuzhong (China)
Email: szshen@nigpas.ac.cn 

 

Carboniferous Subcommission
Wang Xiangdong (China)
Email: xdwang@nigpas.ac.cn 

Devonian Subcommission
John E.A. Marshall (United Kingdom)
Email: jeam@noc.soton.ac.uk 

Silurian Subcommission 
Petr Storch (Czech Republic)   
Email: storch@glic.cas.cz 

 

Ordovician Subcommission
Andre Dronov (Russia)    
Email: dronov@ginras.ru 

 

Cambrian Subcommission 
Loren E. Babcock (USA)
Email: babcock.5@osu.edu 

 

Ediacaran Subcommission
Xiao Shuhai (USA)
Email: xiao@vt.edu 

 

Cryogenian Subcommission
Graham Shields-Zhou (United Kingdom) 
Email: g.shields@ucl.ac.uk

 

Precambrian Subcommission 
Bruce Egglington (Canada)
Email: bruce.eglington@usask.ca

 

Stratigraphic Classification 
Werner Piller (Austria)  
Email: werener.piller@uni-graz.at

 

Global Geochemical Baselines (GGB)

http://www.globalgeochemicalbaselines.eu/

 


Co-Chair: Dr. David B. Smith
USGS
Mailstop 973 - Denver Federal Center, Denver, Colorado 80225, USA
Tel: + 1 303 236 1849
Fax: + 1 303 236 1425
Email: dsmith@usgs.gov 

 

Co-Chair: Dr. Wang Xueqiu
UNESCO International Centre on Global-scale Geochemistry
84 Jinguang Road, Langfang, Hebei 06500, China
Tel: +86-316-2267629
Fax: +86-316-2212744
Email: wangxueqiu@igge.cn

 

Secretary: Dr. Patrice de Caritat
Geoscience Australia, Resources Division Department
Canberra, Australia
Fax: +61 2 6249 9971
Tel: +61 2 6249 9378
Email: patrice.deCaritat@ga.gov.au

 

Treasurer: Dr. Alecos Demetriades
Athens, Greece
Email: alecos.demetriades@gmail.com

Tectonics and Structural Geology (TECTASK)

http://www.tectask.org/

 


Chairman: Prof. Rodolfo Carosi
Italian National Committee for IUGS
Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra, Università degli Studi di Torino
via Valperga Caluso 35, 10125 Torino, Italy
Email: rodolfo.carosi@unito.it

 

Vice Chairman: Prof. Manish Mamtani 
Department of Geology & Geophysics, Indian Institute of Technology
Kharagpur - 721302, India
Tel: +91-3222-283388
Tel: +91-3222-283389
Fax: +91-3222-282700 
Email: mamtani@gg.iitkgp.ernet.in 

Treasurer: Prof. Enrique Gomez-Rias
Scotland, United Kingdom

 

Secretary General: Dr. Hermann Lebit
Worldwide Exploration Marathon Oil Company
5555 San Felipe, Houston, TX 77056-2725, USA
Tel: +1 713 296 2698
Fax: +1 713 296 4310
Email: lebit@sbcglobal.net

 
 
 
 
 
 

SOCIAL NETWORKS

  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn Icona sociale
  • Twitter

© 2019-2020 International Union of Geological Sciences