Scientific Commissions

 

Geoscience Education, Training & Technology Transfer (COGE)

http://www.iugscoge.com/

 


Chairman: Prof. Chris King
Keele University, United Kingdom
Email: chrisjhking36@gmail.com 

Secretary/Treasurer: Prof. Ian Clark
University of South Australia, Australia
Email: ian.clark@unisa.edu.au

Commissioners: Greg McNamara (Webmaster, Geological Society of Australia – Australia); Jesús Martínez-Frías (Former Chair, Spanish National Research Council, CSIC – Spain); Gary Lewis (USA); Ochir Gerel (Mongolian University of Science & Technology – Mongolia); Yamina Bourgeoini (Cadi Ayyad University – Morocco); R. Shankar (Mangalore University – India); Ashvin Wickramasooriya (University of Peradeniya – Sri Lanka); Young-Shin Park (Chosun University – South Korea); Roberto Greco (University of Campinas – Brazil); Clara Vasconcelos (University of Porto – Portugal)


Commission on Geoheritage (ICG)

 

Executive

Chair: Asier Hilario

Basque Coast UNESCO Global Geopark

Deba, Spain

Email: flysch@gipuzkoa.eus

Vice Chair: Angela Ehling

Bundesanstalt für Geowissenschaften und Rohstoffe

Berlin, Germany

Email: Angela.Ehling@bgr.de
 

Vice Chair: Zhang Jianping

China University of Geoscience

Beijing, China

Email: zhjping@cugb.edu.cn
 

Secretary General: Juana Vegas

Instituto Geológico y Minera de España

Madrid, Spain

Email: j.vegas@igme.es
 

Subcommission on Geoheritage Sites and Collections

https://geoheritage-iugs.mnhn.fr/

Chair: Benjamin van Wyk de Vries

Clermont Auvergne University

France

Email: ben.vanwyk@uca.fr
 

Secretary General: Ezzoura Errami

Chouaib Doukkali University

Morrocco, email: errami.e@ucd.ac.ma 

 

Subcommission on Heritage Stones

http://globalheritagestone.com/

Chair: Gurmeet Kaur

Panjab University

India

Email: gurmeet28374@gmail.com
 

Secretary General: Victor Cardenes

Oviedo University

Spain

Email: cardenesvictor@uniovi.es
 

History of Geological Sciences (INHIGEO)

http://www.inhigeo.com/


President: Ezio Vaccari
Department of Theoretical and Applied Sciences, University of Insubria

Pad. Rossi, via O. Rossi 9, 21100 Varese, Italy

Tel.: +39 0332 218940 / +39 348 4964372
Email: ezio.vaccari@uninsubria.it

 

Secretary General: Martina Koelbl-Ebert
Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, University of Munich

Luisenstr. 37, 80333 Munich, Germany

Tel.: +49 178 2745742 
Email: koelbl-ebert@snsb.de

 

Vice-President Europe: Marianne Klemun
Department of History, University of Vienna
1010 Wien, Dr. Karl Lueger-Ring 1, Austria
Tel.: +43 1 4277 40832
Email: marianne.klemun@univie.ac.at  

 

Editor of the Annual Record: John A. Diemer
Department of Geography & Earth Sciences, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Charlotte, NC 28223, USA
Tel.: +1 704-687-5994
Email: jadiemer@uncc.edu

Past-President: Barry J. Cooper
20 Royal Avenue, Burnside, South Australia 5066, Australia

Tel.: +61 8 8332 1846 
Email: barry@ananian-cooper.com 

 

Vice President North America: Stephen Rowland
Department of Geoscience, Box 454010, University of Nevada

Las Vegas, NV 89154-4010, USA
Tel.: +1 702 895-3625
Email: steve.rowland@unlv.edu

Vice President Asia: Toshihiro Yamada
Yawata 525-13, Tateyama City, Chiba Prefecture, 294-0047, Japan
Tel.: +81 470 24 1851
Email: tosmak-yamada@muf.biglobe.ne.jp 

 

Vice-President Australasia/Oceania: Carol Bacon
74 Summerleas Rd, Fern Tree, Tasmania 7054, Australia
Tel.: +61 3 6239 1409
Email: gclota@trump.net.au

 

Vice-President Latin America: Maria Margaret Lopes
PPG Interunidades em Museologia - PPGMUS
Museu de Arqueologia e Etnologia - MAE
Universidade de São Paulo - USP
Av. Prof. Almeida Prado, 1466 - Butantã, São Paulo - SP, 05508-070, Brazil
Tel.: +55-11-3091-5070-8652
Email: mariamargaretlopes@gmail.com

Vice-President Africa: Sharad Master 
EGRI, School of Geosciences, University of the Witwatersrand

P. Bag 3, WITS 2050, Johannesburg, South Africa
Tel.: +27-82-8949479 
E-mail: sharad.master@wits.ac.za; sharadmaster@yahoo.co.uk 

 

Web Master: Johannes Mattes
Florianigasse 37/9, 1080 Wien, Austria

Tel.: +43 650 3855103    
Email: johannes.mattes@univie.ac.at     

 

Ex Officio (Publications and Outreach Coordinator): Kathleen Histon

via Mazzini 4, 21039 Valganna (VA), Italy

Tel.: +39 347 5116230

Email: hiscat@interfree.it

Geoscience Information (CGI)

http://www.cgi-iugs.org/

Chair: Harvey Thorleifson
Minnesota Geological Survey
Department of Earth Sciences, College of Science and Engineering, University of Minnesota
2609 West Territorial Road, St Paul MN 55114-1009, USA
Tel.: +1 612 626 2150
Email: thorleif@umn.edu

 

Co-Secretary General: Zhang Minghua
Development Research Center, China Geological Survey
45 Fuwai Street, Beijing 100037, P. R. China
Tel.: +86 10 58584620
Email: zminghua@mail.cgs.gov.cn

 

Co-Secretary General: Kombada Mhopjeni  
Geological Survey of Namibia, Ministry of Mines and Energy
6 Aviation Rd,Private Bag 13297, Windhoek, Namibia
Tel.: +264 61 284 8101
Email: Kombada.Mhopjeni@mme.gov.na
 
Treasurer: Mark Rattenbury 
GNS Science I Te Pῡ Ao
1 Fairway Drive, Avalon 5010, PO Box 30368, Lower Hutt 5040, New Zealand
Tel.: +64 4 570 4697
Email: m.rattenbury@gns.cri.nz

 

Council Members:

 

Kazuhiro Miyazaki
Geological Survey of Japan/AIST, The Institute of Geology and Geoinformation
Tsukuba Central 7, 1-1-1 Higashi, Tsukuba, Ibaraki, 305-8567, Japan
Tel.: +81 29 861 2390
Email: kazu-miyazaki@aist.go.jp
 
Eric Boisvert
Geological Survey of Canada
490 rue de la Couronne, Québec G1K 9A9, Canada
Tel.: +1 418 654 3871
Email: eric.boisvert2@canada.ca
 
Web Manager: Edward Lewis
British Geological Survey
Nicker Hill, Keyworth, Nottingham NG12 5GG, UK
Tel: +44 115 936 3385
Email: edlew@bgs.ac.uk    

 

Christelle Loiselet
French Geological Survey
3 av. Claude-Guillemin - BP 36009, 45060 Orléans Cedex 2 - France
Tel: +33 2 38 64 33 88 / +33 7 86 03 58 50
Email: c.loiselet@brgm.fr

International Commission on Stratigraphy (ICS)

http://www.stratigraphy.org/

https://www.iugs.org/ics

 


Chair: David A.T. Harper
Earth Sciences and Principal, Van Mildert College, Durham University
Durham DH1 3LE, United Kingdom

Email: david.harper@durham.ac.uk 

 

Vice Chair: Shuzhong Shen
Professor and Academician, School of Earth Sciences and Engineering, Nanjing University

163 Xianlin Avenue, Nanjing 210023, China
e-mail: szshen@nju.edu.cn

 

Secretary General: Phil Gibbard
Scott Polar Research Institute, University of Cambridge
Downing Street, Cambridge CB2 1ER, United Kingdom

Email: plg1@cam.ac.uk 

 

Executive (non-voting members):

Webmaster: Nicholas Car
Data Systems Architect
SURROUND Australia pty Ltd
20 Oxford Pl, Shorncliffe, Brisbane, Qld, 4017, Australia
Tel: +614 77 560 177
E-mail: nicholas.car@surroundaustralia.com

 

Graphics Officer: Kim Cohen
Department of Physical Geography, Utrecht University
P.O. BOX 80.115, 3508 TC Utrecht, The Netherlands
Tel. +31 30 253 5774
E-mail: k.m.cohen@uu.nl

 

Quaternary Stratigraphy Subcommission

Chair: Jan Zalasiewicz

University of Leicester
Leicester, LE1 7RH, United Kingdom
E-mail: jaz1@leicester.ac.uk, jaz1@le.ac.uk

 

Vice-Chair: Martin J. Head
Department of Earth Sciences, Brock University
1812 Sir Isaac Brock Way, St. Catharines, Ontario L2S 3A1, Canada
E-mail: mjhead@brocku.ca

 

Vice-Chair: Liping Zhou
Department of Geography, Peking University
Beijing 100871, China
E-mail: lpzhou@pku.edu.cn

 

Secretary: Adele Bertini
Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra, University of Firenze
Via G. La Pira 4, 50121 Firenze, Italy
E-mail: adele.bertini@unifi.it

 

Neogene Stratigraphy Subcommission
 

Chair: Kenneth G. Miller
Department of Earth & Planetary Sciences, State University of New Jersey
610 Taylor Rd., Piscataway, NY 08854-8066, USA
Email: kgm@rci.rutgers.edu

 

Vice-Chair: Elena Turco
Professor, Dipartimento di Scienze Chimiche, della Vita e della Sostenibilità Ambientale, Università degli Studi di Parma
Parco Area delle Scienze 157/A, 43124 Parma, Italy
Email: elena.turco@unipr.it

 

Secretary: Marie-Pierre Aubry
Department of Earth & Planetary Sciences, Institute of Earth, Oceans, and Atmospheric Sciences, Rutgers, State University of New Jersey
610 Taylor Rd., Piscataway, NJ 08854-80664, USA
Email: aubry@eps.rutgers.edu

Paleogene Stratigraphy Subcommission 
 

Chair: Laia Alegret
Dept. Ciencias de la Tierra, Universidad de Zaragoza
Pedro Cerbuna s/n, 50009 Zaragoza, Spain
Email: laia@unizar.es

 

Vice-Chair: Aitor Payros
Department of Stratigraphy and Paleontology, University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU)
Ap. 644, E48080 Bilbao, Spain

Email: a.payros@ehu.es

 

Secretary: Claudia Agnini
Dipartimento di Geoscienze, Universita' degli Studi di Padova
Via Giovanni Gradenigo 6, 35131 Padova, Italy
Email: claudia.agnini@unipd.it

 

Cretaceous Stratigraphy Subcommission
 

Chair: Maria Rose Petrizzo
Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra "A. Desio", Università degli Studi di Milano
via Mangiagalli 34, 20133 Milano, Italy
Email: mrose.petrizzo@unimi.it

 

Vice-Chair: James Haggart
Geological Survey of Canada
1500-605 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 5J3, Canada
Email: jhaggart@nrcan.gc.ca

 

Vice-Chair: Michael Wagreich
Department of Geodynamics and Sedimentology, University of Vienna
Althanstrasse 14, Vienna, A-1090, Austria
Email: michael.wagreich@univie.ac.at

 

Secretary: Francesca Falzoni
Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra "A. Desio", Università degli Studi di Milano
via Mangiagalli 34, 20133 Milano, Italy
Email: francesca.falzoni@unimi.it

 

Jurassic Stratigraphy Subcommission
 

Chair: Angela L. Coe
School of Environment, Earth and Ecosystem Sciences, The Open University
Walton Hall, Milton Keynes, MK7 6AA, United Kingdom
Email: Angela.Coe@open.ac.uk

 

Vice-Chair: Emanuela Mattioli
Laboratoire de Géologie de Lyon, Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1
69622, Villeurbanne, France
Email: emanuela.mattioli@univ-lyon1.fr

 

Vice-Chair: Grzegorz Pienkowski
Polish Geological Institute - National Research Institute
4 Rakowiecka St., 00-975 Warszawa, Poland
Email: grzegorz.pienkowski@pgi.gov.pl

 

Secretary: David B. Kemp
School of Earth Sciences, China University of Geosciences (Wuhan)
388 Lumo Road, Wuhan 430074, China
Email: davidkemp@cug.edu.cn

 

Triassic Stratigraphy Subcommission
 

Chair: Zhong-Qiang Chen
State Key Laboratory of Biogeology & Environmental Geology, China University of Geosciences (Wuhan)
Wuhan 430074, China
Email: zhong.qiang.chen@cug.edu.cn

 

Vice-Chair: Wolfram M. Kürschner
Department of Geosciences, University of Oslo
P.O. Box 1047 Blindern, N-0316 Oslo, Norway
Email: w.m.kurschner@geo.uio.no

 

Secretary: Yadong Sun
GeoZentrum Nordbayern, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg,
Schlossgarten 5, 91054 Erlangen, Germany
Email: yadong.sun@fau.de

 

Permian Stratigraphy Subcommission 

Chair: Lucia Angiolini
Società Paleontologica Italiana
Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra "A. Desio", Università degli Studi di Milano
Via Mangiagalli 34, 20133 Milano, Italy 
Email: lucia.angiolini@unimi.it

 

Vice-Chair: Mike Stephenson
British Geological Survey
Keyworth Nottingham, NG12 5GG, United Kingdom
Email: mhste@bgs.ac.uk

 

Secretary: Yichun Zhang
Nanjing Institute of Geology and Palaeontology
Chinese Academy of Sciences
39 East Beijing Road, Nanjing 210008, Jiangsu, China
Email: yczhang@nigpas.ac.cn

 

Carboniferous Stratigraphy Subcommission

Chair: Xiangdong Wang

Nanjing Institute of Geology and Palaeontology, CAS
39 East Beijing Rd. Nanjing, Jiangsu 210008, China
Email: xdwang@nigpas.ac.cn

Vice-Chair: Svetlana Nikolaeva
Department of Earth Sciences, The Natural History Museum
London, SW7 5BD, United Kingdom
UK & Paleontological Institute, Russian Academy of Sciences
Profsoyuznaya ul., 123, Moscow, 117997, Russia
Email: s.nikolaeva@nhm.ac.uk

 

Secretary: Wenkun Qie
Key Laboratory of Economic Stratigraphy and Palaeogeography, Nanjing Institute of Geology and Palaeontology, CAS
39 East Beijing Rd. Nanjing, Jiangsu 210008, China
Email: wkqie@nigpas.ac.cn

Devonian Stratigraphy Subcommission

Chair: Ladislav Słavik
Department of Paleobiology and Paleoecology, Institute of Geology AS CR,

v.v.i. Rozvojova 269, CZ-165 02 Praha 6, Czech Republic
Email: slavik@gli.cas.cz

 

Vice-Chair: José Ignacio Valenzuela Ríos
Department De Geología, Universitat de València
C/. Dr. Moliner 50, E-46100, Burjassot, Spain
Tel: +34 96 3543412
Email: Jose.I.Valenzuela@uv.es

 

Secretary: Ulrich Jansen
Palaeozoology III, Senckenberg Gesellschaft für Naturforschung Rechtsfähiger
Verein gemäß § 22 BGB, Senckenberganlage 25, 60325 Frankfurt, Germany
Email: jansen@senckenberg.de

 

Silurian Stratigraphy Subcommission 
 

Chair: Petr Štorch
Institute of Geology CAS
Rozvojová 269, Praha 6, CZ 165 00, Czech Republic
Email: storch@gli.cas.cz

 

Vice-Chair: Carlo Corradini
Dipartimento di Scienze Chimiche e Geologiche, Università di Cagliari

via Trentino 51, I-09127 Cagliari, Italy
Email: corradin@unica.it

 

Vice-Chair: Renbin Zhan
Nanjing Institute of Geology and Paleontology
Chinese Academy of Sciences
No. 39 East Beijing Road, Nanjing 210008, China
Email: rbzhan@nigpas.ac.cn

 

Ordovician Stratigraphy Subcommission
  

Chair: Thomas Servais
UMR 8198 EVO ECO PALEO – Evolution, Ecologie et Paléontologie, CNRS - Université de Lille – Sciences et Technologies
Bâtiment SN5, 59655 Villeneuve d’Ascq Cedex, France
Email: Thomas.Servais@univ-lille.fr

 

Vice-Chair: Zhan Renbin
State Key Laboratory of Paleobiology and Stratigraphy, Nanjing Institute of Geology and Palaeontology (NIGP)
Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS)
39 East Beijing Road, Nanjing, 210008, China
Tel: +86 25 83282132
Email: rbzhan@nigpas.ac.cn

 

Secretary: Bertrand Lefebvre
UMR 5276 LGL - TPE
CNRS - Université de Lyon 1
Bâtiment GEODE, 69622 Villeurbanne Cedex, France
Email: Bertrand.Lefebvre@univ-lyon1.fr

Cambrian Stratigraphy Subcommission 
 

Chair: Per Ahlberg
Department of Geology, Lund University
Sölvegatan 12, SE-223-62 Lund, Sweden
Tel.: +46 46 222 78 70
Email: per.ahlberg@geol.lu.se

 

Vice-Chair: Zhu Maoyan 
Chinese Academy of Sciences
Nanjing Institute of Geology and Paleontology
39 East Beijing Road, Nanjing 210008, China
Email: myzhu@nigpas.ac.cn

 

Secretary: Anna Żylińska
Geofizyka w Geologii, Uniwersytetu Warszawskiego
ul. Żwirki i Wigury 93, pokój 1079, 02-089 Warszawa, Poland
Email: anna.zylinska@uw.edu.pl

 

Ediacaran Stratigraphy Subcommission
 

Chair: Marc Laflamme
Department of Chemical and Physical Sciences and Royal Ontario Museum, University of Toronto Mississauga
3359 Mississauga Road N., Mississauga, ON L5L 1C6, Canada
Tel.: +1 905-828-5228 / +1 647-999-3589
E-mail: marc.laflamme@utoronto.ca

 

Vice-Chair: James Schiffbauer
Department of Geological Sciences and X-ray Microanalysis Core Facility, University of Missouri
E-mail: schiffbauerj@missouri.edu

 

Secretary: Lucas Warren
Institute of Geosciences and Exact Sciences, Department of Applied Geology, São Paulo State University (UNESP),

São Paulo State, Brazil
E-mail: lucas.warren@unesp.br

 

Cryogenian Stratigraphy Subcommission

 

Chair: Maoyan Zhu
Nanjing Institute of Geology and Palaeontology
Chinese Academy of Sciences
39 East Beijing Road, Nanjing, 210008, China
Email: myzhu@nigpas.ac.cn
 
Vice-chair: Carol Dehler
Department of Geology, Utah State University
4505 Old Main Hill, Logan, Utah  84333, USA
Email: Carol.Dehler@usu.edu
 
Secretary: Ying Zhou
Department of Earth Sciences, University College London
Gower Place, London WC1E 6BT, United Kingdom
Email: y-zhou@ucl.ac.uk

 

Pre-Cryogenian Stratigraphy Subcommission (formally Precambrian Stratigraphy Subcommission)

 

Chair: Martin J. Whitehouse
Director NordSIMS facility, Department of Geosciences, Swedish Museum of Natural History
Box 50007, SE-104 05 Stockholm, Sweden
Email: martin.whitehouse@nrm.se

Vice-Chair: Douglas Galante
Brazilian Synchrotron Light Laboratory
Rua Giuseppe Maximo Scolfaro 1000, Campinas - SP CEP: 13083-100, Brazil
Email: douglas.galante@lnls.br

Secretary: Evelyn Ap. M. Sanchez Bizan
Instituto de Ciência e Tecnologia, Universidade Federal dos Vales do Jequitinhonha e Mucuri, UFVJM - Campus JK

Alto da Jacuba, Diamantina, MG, Brazil, CEP 39100-000
Email: eamsanchez@gmail.com

 

Stratigraphic Classification Subcommission

Chair: Werner E. Piller
Institute for Earth Sciences, University of Graz
Heinrichstrasse 26, 8010 Graz, Austria
Email: werner.piller@uni-graz.at

 

Vice-Chair: Brian R. Pratt
Department of Geological Sciences, University of Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7N 5E2 Canada
Email: brian.pratt@usask.ca

 

Vice-Chair: Richard H. Fluegeman
Department of Geological Sciences, Ball State University
4130 West University Ave, Muncie, Indiana 47304, USA
Email: rfluegem@bsu.edu

 

Secretary: Jochen Erbacher
Federal Institute for Geosciences and Natural Resources (BGR), Geozentrum Hannover
Stilleweg 2, 30655 Hannover, Germany
Email: Jochen.Erbacher@bgr.de

 

 

Subcommission on Timescale Calibration

 

Chair: Bradley D. Cramer
Department of Earth & Environmental Sciences, University of Iowa
Iowa City, Iowa 52242, USA
Email: bradley-cramer@uiowa.edu

 

Vice-Chair: Mark D. Schmitz
Department of Geosciences, Boise State University
Boise, Idaho, 83725, USA
Email: markschmitz@boisestate.edu

 

Secretary: Anne-Christine DaSilva
Department of Geology, Université de Liège
B-4000 Liège, Belgium
Email: ac.dasilva@uliege.be

 

Global Geochemical Baselines (GGB)

http://www.globalgeochemicalbaselines.eu/

 

 

1st Co-chair: Anna Ladenberger

Geological Survey of Sweden, Sweden

Email: anna.ladenberger@sgu.se

 
2nd Co-chair: Kate V. Knights

Geochemist, Dublin, Ireland

Email: kknights@hotmail.com


1st Deputy-chair: Gloria Prieto

Servicio Geológico Colombiano, Colombia

Email: gprieto@sgc.gov.co


2nd Deputy-chair: Gloria Simubali

Geological Survey of Namibia, Namibia

Email: Gloria.Simubali@mme.gov.na


Scientific Secretary: Paula Adánez

Instituto Geológico y Minero de España, Spain

Email: p.adanez@igme.es


Public Relations and Finance: Ariadne Argyraki

Department of Geology and Geoenvironment, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece

Email: argyraki@geol.uoa.gr
 

Treasurer: Christina Stouraiti

Department of Geology and Geoenvironment, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece

Email: chstouraiti@geol.uoa.gr

Advisory Panel:

David B. Smith

United States Geological Survey, USA

Email: dbsmith13@gmail.com


Patrice de Caritat

Geoscience Australia, Australia

Email: Patrice.DeCaritat@ga.gov.au


Alecos Demetriades

Institute of Geology and Mineral Exploration, Greece

Email: alecos.demetriades@gmail.com

 

Tectonics and Structural Geology (TECTASK)

http://www.tectask.org/

 


Chair: Enrique Gomez-Rivas
University of Barcelona, Spain
Email: e.gomez-rivas@ub.edu

 

Vice Chair: Taija Torvela 
University of Leeds, United Kingdom 
Email: t.m.torvela@leeds.ac.uk 

Treasurer: Salvatore Iaccarino

University of Torino, Italy
Email: salvatore.iaccarino@unito.it

Secretary General: Lorenzo Gemignani

Freie University, Berlin, Germany

Email: lgemignani@zedat.fu-berlin.de

Officers:

Susanne Buiter (RWTH Aachen University, Germany), Haakon Fossen (University of Bergen, Norway), Carolina Cavalcante (Federal University of Paraná, Brazil), Whitney M. Behr (ETH, Zurich), Zhongbao Zhao (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China), Paola Manzotti (Stockholm University, Sweden), Lorraine Tual (Swedish Museum of Natural History, Sweden), Koushik Sen (Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology, India), Rodolfo Carosi (University of Torino, Italy), David Peacock (University of Bergen, Norway), Bruce Hobbs (Perth, Australia), Manuel De Paz (VU, Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

SOCIAL NETWORKS

  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn Icona sociale
  • Twitter

© 2019-2020 International Union of Geological Sciences