top of page

Task Groups


Task Group on Isotope Geology and Geochronology (TGIG)

Chair: Igor M. Villa
Leader, Isotope Geology and Geochronology, Institut für Geologie
Baltzerstrasse 3, CH 3012 Bern, Switzerland


Secretary General: Paul R. Renne
Leader, Isotope Geology and Geochronol
ogy, Berkeley Geochronology Centre
2455 Ridge Road,
Berkeley, Berkeley CA 94709, USA


Task Group on Igneous Rocks (TGIR)

Read more about TGIR (updated: 7 July 2022)

Chair and Treasurer: Michele Lustrino

Sapienza Università di Roma, Italy


Vice-Chair: Roger Mitchell

Lakehead University, Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada


Secretary General: Georg Zellmer

Massey University, Palmerston North, New Zealand



Task Group on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (TGDEI)

During the 77th IUGS Executive Committee meeting in Paris (France), the IUGS EC decided to create a Task Group that deals with problems related to diversity, equity, and inclusion within the IUGS scientific community. The purpose of the task group is to bring the IUGS constituent groups (commissions, subcommissions, task groups, initiatives) to a reasonable balance of their members with regard to issues such as gender, geographical provenance, discipline, career stage, etc.

The current situation within the IUGS constituent groups related to those issues has been already analyzed through a survey conducted by the IUGS Secretariat, based on the list of official participants in all IUGS constituent groups. In particular, the full gender analysis was conducted both by country and
by constituent groups. An imbalance was highlighted for most of the groups: the overall average data are: Men 73% vs Women 27%. The work of this task group will consist in encouraging IUGS constituent groups to reach a reasonable balance of representation within their boards, by identifying barriers, suggesting strategies to be adopted, sharing information and experiences on those issues with other scientific organizations, with the aim of progressively filling the gaps and eliminating the unbalances existing within the groups.

Chair: Silvia Peppoloni

Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia, Rome, Italy

IUGS Councillor from 2018 to 2022


Member: Anna Ladenberger

Co-chair of the IUGS Global Geochemical Baselines

Member: Asier Hilario

Chair of the IUGS Commission on Geoheritage


Task Group on Submarine Geohazards (TGSG)

Approved at 78th IUGS Executive Committee meeting in Belfast (UK), 14-17 February 2023.


Chair: Kiichiro Kawamura

Yamaguchi University, Japan


Vice-Chair: Char-Shine Liu 
National Taiwan University, Chinese Taipei

Vice-Chair: Gregory F. Moore
University of Hawaii, USA

Vice-Chair: Jose M. R. Pacheco
Research Ins
titute for Volcanology and Risk Assessment (IVAR), Portugal


Vice-Chair: Shinji Sassa 
National Institute of Maritime, Port and Aviation Technology, International Consortium on Landslides, Japan


Vice-Chair: Vicki Ferrini 
Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University, USA


Secretary General: Yasukuni Okubo
Society for Study of Submarine Geological Risks, Science Council of Japan, Japan


bottom of page