The International Geoscience Programme (IGCP) serves as a knowledge hub of UNESCO to facilitate international scientific cooperation in the geosciences. The IGCP mission includes promoting sustainable use of natural resources, advancing new initiatives related to geo-diversity and geo-heritage and geohazards risk mitigation.

Since 1972, the International Geoscience Programme (IGCP) has partnered with the IUGS to bring together thousands of Earth scientists from around the world and allowed them to benefit from the cooperative spirit generated under the umbrella of UNESCO.

The IGCP promotes collaborative projects with a special emphasis on the benefit to society, capacity-building, and the advancement and sharing of knowledge between scientists with an emphasis on North-South and South-South cooperation. IGCP operates by providing seed funding grants donated by UNESCO, IUGS and extra-budgetary sources. IGCP projects primarily deal with geosciences on global issues within its five themes:

  • Earth Resources

  • Global Change

  • Geohazards

  • Hydrogeology

  • Geodynamic


Each project has an average lifespan of five years and its progress is assessed annually through a rigorous peer review process conducted by the IGCP Council following the evaluation reports from members of the Scientific Board during the first half of February.

Read more


IGCP Chairperson
Prof. Sobhi Nasir

Sultan Qaboos University

Earth Sciences Research

Al-Khod-Muscat 123, Oman

Tel.: +968-92314870



IGCP Executive Secretary
Mr. Kristof Vandenberghe
Tel.: +33 (0) 1 45 68 13 52

IGCP Secretariat 

Dr. Ozlem Adiyaman
Tel.: +33 (0)1 45 68 14 33



Ms Marie-Laure Faber

Tel.: +33 (0)1 45 68 07 84



Earth Sciences and Geo-hazards Risk Reduction Section

Division of Ecological and Earth Sciences
7, place de Fontenoy

75352 Paris 07 SP



  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn Icona sociale
  • Twitter

© 2019-2020 International Union of Geological Sciences